Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

  • 8:48 AM, Friday, 03 Dec 2021

Dr. V. K. Dadhwal (2016-2021)

Dr. Dadhwal obtained his Postgraduate Degree and PhD from Indian Agricultural Research Institute in Plant Physiology. Prior to joining IIST, he was the Director (2011-16) and Associate Director (2010-11) of National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC), a major Centre of ISRO and had been the Dean of Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), Dehradun (2004-2010) and concurrently Director - in - Charge of UN Centre for Space Science and Technology in Asia and the Pacific (2006, 2009-10).

His major achievements are in the area of earth observation applications including developing techniques for crop forecasting using earth observations and while at NRSC realisation of National Geospatial Portal BHUVAN, National Database for Emergency Management (NDEM), National Information System for Climate and Environmental Studies (NICES), Space-based Inputs for Sustainable Development & Planning (SISDP), Water Resource Information System (WRIS), Disaster Management Support Program, etc and in satellite data, acquisition and processing including realization of IMGEOS and ground station at Antarctica.

While at IIRS, he had been responsible for strengthening field based and quantitative application of remote sensing and EDUSAT based certificate program in field of remote sensing. His scientific contributions include as Project Director, National Carbon Project (NCP, 2007-2016) in biogeochemical cycle of Carbon for India and in as diverse EO application areas as agriculture, crop simulation models, forestry, geo-hazards, geo-informatics, hydrology, land cover/ land use, land surface processes, meteorology and oceanography and has more than 275 peer reviewed papers as a co-author. His early studies on crop discrimination, mapping, crop yield modelling was major contributor ISRO program on agriculture forecasting (1986-2004) and to final acceptance and establishment of a national centre by Ministry of Agriculture in 2012. He has co-guided 10 PhD students.

He has extensive international cooperation experience, as member/leader of Indian delegation to UN Committee of Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UNCOPUOS), Vienna (2013, 2014, 2015), to Science & Technology sub-committee of UNCOPUOS, Vienna (2013-2016) and was Chair of UN COPUOS S&T subcommittee in 2016. He has been member/co-chair of Indian delegation in international cooperation meetings with US, Japan, ESA and China.

His scientific program management experience includes Co-Chair, National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) of DST (2011-2016), Governing Body/Council of Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS, 2011-2016) and many State Remote Sensing Centre as well as in Scientific/Research Advisory Committees of National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), Gadanki, National Rice Research Institute (NRRI), Cuttack, 2014-2017, Space Physics Laboratory(SPL), VSSC, etc. He also served as Government nominee in the Board of Antrix Corporation (2014-2016). Currently he is the Chair of Project Advisory and Monitoring Committee (PAMC) of DST - Network Project on Imaging Spectroscopy and Applications (NISA)

Dr. K. S. Dasgupta (2010-2016)

Dr. K. S. Dasgupta took over as the second director of IIST in December 2010. Prior to this he was holding the post of Director, Development & Educational Communication Unit-DECU-ISRO since March’08 and also holding the post of Deputy Director-SNPA (SatCom Navigation Payload Area) of Space Application Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad. He joined the Indian Space Research Organization in 1974. He retired from IIST in June 2016.

  • Dr. Dasgupta did his postgraduate degree in Computer Sciences from Jadavpur University and obtained his doctoral degree in Electrical Engineering from IIT Bombay, Mumbai. His area of research includes Digital Signal & Image Processing, Digital Communication, Computer Networking, and Satellite Communication. He has published several papers in his area of research.
  • As the Director, DECU he lead a group of engineers, producers, social research scientists who were involved in design, configuration and installation of EDUSAT Tele-education and Tele-medicine network, content generation for Tele-education and Science mission, study the social impact of EDUSAT and SATCOM network for social applications.
  • As the Deputy Director, Satcom Navigation Payload Area (SNPA) area he was involved in the design and development of

    • Communication Transponders for GEOSAT Programme
    • Ground systems and on-board processing system (Digital Subsystems & RF front end) for IRNSS Programme.
    • Application Projects like Disaster Management Systems, Satellite based Ground Communication Systems.
    • Technology transfer to indian industries
    • Technology development programme
    • SAC-ISRO institutional collaboration programme
  • He is associated with many professional institutions such as

    • Senior member IEEE
    • Fellow IETE
    • Life member of Computer Society of India.

Dr. B. N. Suresh (2007 - 2010)

Dr. Byrana Nagappa Suresh, an aerospace scientist. served as the first Director of IIST. He was the Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thiruvananthapuram during the period 2003-2007. He is known for his contribution to Space Capsule Recovery Experiments (SRE). He retired from IIST in November 2010. Presently he is serving as Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor at ISRO Headquarters since November 2010. He was also distinguished Professor at IIT, Mumbai and MIT, Manipal.

He has been honoured with several awards for his significant contributions in the field of Space Technology.

  • Padma Bhushan (2013)
  • Padma Shri (2002)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award - IIT Madras (2004).
  • Dr.Biren Roy Space Science and/or Design Award, 1993 by the Aeronautical Society of India.
  • ASI Award 1996, for Rocket & Related Technologies, by Astronautical Society of India, 1996
  • “AGNI” Award for excellence in Self Reliance by Defence Research & Development Laboratory, Ministry Of Defence in 1999.
  • “Ramanujam Memorial Award” PSG Coimbatore at National System Conference, 2005
  • “Technical Excellence award’ by Lions International, Trivandrum, Jan 2006
  • “Outstanding Achievement Award” by Indian Space Research Organisation in June 2007.
  • “Lifetime Achievement Award” by Indian National Academy of Engineering, INAE) Delhi, in Dec 2007
  • “National Systems Gold Medal” for lifetime contributions for large Systems by System Society of India in Dec 2007.
  • “Aryabhata Award” for excellent contributions in space technology by Astronautical society of India,for 2009