Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

  • 10:32 PM, Tuesday, 18 Jan 2022

Star and Planet Formation: Insights and Intricacies


Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram
5 – 7 December 2016

The Department of Earth and Space Sciences is organizing a national conference devoted to the field of star and planet formation. We invite abstracts that span the full range of the field. Our goal is to bring together researchers working in these areas and create a vibrant programme showcasing the results and opportunities, and initiating collaborations. This is in continuation of our discussion at the one day workshop held during the ASI meeting at Pune in 2015 where it was decided to have periodic gatherings of the star formation community.

IIST is hosting the meeting from December 5 - 7, 2016 at the Valiamala Campus, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. Apart from researchers, we expect participation from PhD scholars and post-doctoral fellows working in these areas. Keeping in view the logistics, we are limiting the external participation to 50. All participants are requested to submit abstracts for oral or poster presentations as part of the registration process.

Local hospitality including food and accommodation will be provided by IIST. In addition, limited funds are available for supporting travel (by train in AC 3-Tier) of participants who do not have travel support from their host institutions.

The registration to the conference is closed.

Topics to be covered:

  • Molecular clouds
  • Early stages in lives of stars
  • Interstellar medium
  • Embedded clusters
  • Protoplanetary disks and planet formation

Contact Us:


SPF 2016 Conference Poster:Download


Scientific Organizing Committee
  • Anandmayee Tej (Chair), IIST.
  • S. K. Ghosh, NCRA-TIFR.
  • D. K. Ojha, TIFR.
  • A. Subramaniam, IIA.
  • N. M. Ashok, PRL.
  • M. Gopinathan, ARIES.
  • Jagadheep D., IIST.
  • Sarita Vig, IIST.
Local Organizing Committee
  • Sarita Vig (Chair).
  • Jagadheep D.
  • Anandmayee Tej.
  • Samir Mandal.
  • Resmi L.
  • Anand Narayanan.